A very small quilt for a dolly

Dolly models quilt

Being frustrated that I had months of work left ahead of me before I could start piecing my patchwork blocks together, I was impatient to get a sense of how they might look when they were part of a quilt.

Actually, I haven’t succeeded in achieving my desire to find out how my quilt will look.

This ‘quilt’ is very small indeed (in fact, it’s more of a squished cushion) and certainly does not show me that magic thing about patchwork – the merging of hundreds of separate shapes into one glorious whole.

Ho hum. At least my son’s dolly is a little warmer and he can have the joy that I will have to wait a little longer for: cuddling up with a quilt.

Posted on June 20, 2013, in Jacob's ladder quilt-making and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good gosh! Not only quilt making but blogging too! Ancient and modern all in one. Hope your pieces are ‘all in one’ soon. Loved the boy’s comment about sandwiches.

    • He is quite fascinated by all the patches everywhere. And he’s very good about them encroaching into his play area. One of his mantras is, “not touch mummy’s sewing sheen”.

  2. Hiya Ruth welcome to blogging! I have a blog as well! Actually I’m thinking about learning to sew but a quilt is far off for me, im probably at the sew a button on stage. lol Sian x

    • Oh, you must! Sew sew sew! You’ll pick it up easily again. Didn’t we do some sewing a long time ago in a Textiles class together once? I remember making felt and LOOKING at sewing machines at school, although I can’t remember whether we actually used them. Let me know if you need any tips or suggestions of projects to get you going. x

Leave a Reply

Redesigned By M

DIY-er who loves to redesign, repurpose, and reorganize just about everything.

Experience | The Guardian

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

Tim Latimer - Quilts etc

My adventures in Quilting and Gardening

Quilt Museum and Gallery Updates

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

The Free Motion Quilting Project

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

sewinggoddess

A great WordPress.com site

The Inbox Jaunt

From Doodle to Design

Thrift Store Crafter

The Misadventures of a Cheap Crafter

Craftyclaws

[noun, plural] A nicer way to say hand cramp, esp. from making things

Shortcuts | The Guardian

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Kermode Uncut Feed

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

Material Obsession

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

Happy Quilting

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

sewmuchchoice

Sewing, knitting and general craftiness!

One English Teacher

with a world to discover

Sewing | The Guardian

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

Eric The Quilter

Quality Quilts From A Quilty Guy

