Assembly, at last

Happy happy joy joy! Time to put all of the blocks together and play around with colour combinations. This is what I’ve been waiting months for.

I resisted the temptation to start sewing the blocks together until I had made all of them. This was hard as I got more and more excited about the overall design the higher the stacks of little blocks got. Enthusiastic friends didn’t help much with my resolve, as they demanded that I lay the blocks out before I had made all of them to get a feeling for the quilt. I had to bite my lip so that I didn’t (entirely) display my obsession or pedantry by pointing out that there was no way they could get a feeling for the quilt until the quilt was actually a quilt.

This is what I've been waiting for: assembling the quilt top

This is what I’ve been waiting for: assembling the quilt top

I have pinned it all to a massive sheet so that I can sew a line of blocks at a time and know where they all need to go. It took an hour just to pin it.

Although it feels as though I have progressed at a great pace this week, it will still take me months to finish this quilt. As long as it’s done by Winter, I’ll be happy. Then I’ll have the world’s cosiest bed.

Posted on June 24, 2013, in Jacob's ladder quilt-making and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It looks wonderful! You must be so pleased.

  2. One of my most favourite blocks, it looks great!

  3. Thank you, both! Yes, it’s coming along. Got to keep up the momentum now and get it all sewn together. I am aching a bit after kneeling for hours and arranging it all last night. I’m going to take an evening off and watch some rubbish telly to recharge my batteries.

Leave a Reply

Redesigned By M

DIY-er who loves to redesign, repurpose, and reorganize just about everything.

Experience | The Guardian

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

Tim Latimer - Quilts etc

My adventures in Quilting and Gardening

Quilt Museum and Gallery Updates

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

The Free Motion Quilting Project

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

sewinggoddess

A great WordPress.com site

The Inbox Jaunt

From Doodle to Design

Thrift Store Crafter

The Misadventures of a Cheap Crafter

Craftyclaws

[noun, plural] A nicer way to say hand cramp, esp. from making things

Shortcuts | The Guardian

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Kermode Uncut Feed

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

Material Obsession

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

Happy Quilting

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

sewmuchchoice

Sewing, knitting and general craftiness!

One English Teacher

with a world to discover

Sewing | The Guardian

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

Eric The Quilter

Quality Quilts From A Quilty Guy

